Monthly Archives: June 2011

OAPABA Bi-annual Newsletter

January 29, 2010

Dear OAPABA Members,

Happy New Year from the OAPABA Board of Directors! We wanted to take some time to update you on some of OAPABA’s activities over the last 6 months. We are very proud of our young organization’s accomplishments so far and hope to do more in 2010! In 2009, our organization took strong positions on a number of issues important to the APA community, and related letters and press releases are attached to this e-mail.

Please stay tuned for e-mails about OAPABA’s upcoming spring event and social.

Oregon Asian Pacific American Bar Association Activities: July – December 2009

July 14, 2009: OAPABA members elect the first board of directors. (Please scroll down for director roster and contact information)

August 17, 2009: The OAPABA Board issued a statement to the press condemning the racially-motivated assault on Vietnamese-American student, Bao Vuong, in NE Portland.

September 15, 2009: The OAPABA Communications Committee successfully nominated Trung Tu (a partner at McEwen Gisvold) as a recipient of the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association’s (NAPABA) 2009 “Best Lawyers Under 40″ Award. Trung was recognized at the annual NAPABA Convention Awards dinner on November 21, 2009, in Boston, MA.

(Photo: OAPABA members at the 2009 Annual NAPABA Convention in Boston, MA: (left to right) Connie Kong, Emily Yip, Elisa Dozono, Trung Tu, Angela Sagalewicz, Julia Markley)

September 29, 2009: The OAPABA Events Committee hosted a social with former California State Bar President, Holly Fujie, where she spoke about the importance of Asian Pacific American bar associations in the legal community.

October 26, 2009: The OAPABA Board sent a letter to Senators Ron Wyden and Jeff Merkley regarding the U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal vacancies. The letter urged the senators recognize the importance of assessing each of the finalists, in addition to experience and moral character, on their commitment to diversity.

November 10, 2009: The OAPABA Events Committee hosted the first OAPABA member social at the Crown Room in NW Portland. Members enjoyed happy hour food and drinks while getting to know one another.

November 25, 2009: The OAPABA Board sent a letter to Eugene city officials Kitty Percy (Mayor), Jon Ruiz (City Manager), and Pete Kerns (Chief of Police) regarding the September 22 incident in which a Eugene police officer deployed his taser against a non-English speaking Chinese student attending the University of Oregon. The student was confronted inside a townhouse by Eugene police officers who erroneously believed that he was trespassing. When the letter was written, the City of Eugene was reluctant to release video footage from the “taser cam”. OAPABA’s letter urged City officials to release the video in the interest of transparency. The letter also encouraged the Eugene Police Department and University of Oregon to better collaborate on how to recognize and overcome language barriers with non-native English speakers. Eugene Chief of Police, Pete Kerns replied in a letter stating that the Eugene Police Department would be working to improve its cultural competency in the future. The City of Eugene has since released the taser cam video to the public.

December 15, 2009: The OAPABA Board sent a letter to Governor Theodore Kulongoski regarding the appointment process to fill the Oregon Court of Appeals vacancy created by Judge Walter Edmond’s resignation. The letter invited the Governor to use OAPABA as a resource in the appointment process, and also offered to provide the names of several OAPABA members who would be willing to serve on the Governor’s next Oregon Court of Appeals advisory committee.


As a paid member of OAPABA, you are automatically a member of NAPABA, with full rights and benefits. If you are a paid member and are not receiving NAPABA communications by e-mail, please contact Emily Yip at eyip@osbar.org.

We also wanted to remind you of who your board members and committee chairs are. Please feel free to contact us with your ideas, thoughts, and concerns. We are here to serve you.

President Julia Markley (Perkins Coie) jmarkley@perkinscoie.com
President-Elect David Wang (Holland & Knight) david.wang@hklaw.com
Secretary Emily Yip (Oregon State Bar) eyip@osbar.org
Treasurer Kevin Kono (Davis Wright Tremaine) kevinkono@dwt.com
Region 2 Representative Oubonh White (Coos Co. District Attorney’s Office) opwhite@co.coos.or.us
Region 3 Representative Kevin Hashizume (Kevin Hashizume, PC) hashizumepc@gorge,net
Region 4 Representative Simon Whang (Oregon Department of Justice) simon.c.whang@doj.state.or.us
Region 5 Representative Elisa Dozono (Miller Nash) elisa.dozono@millernash.com
At-Large Representative Jessica Asai jessica.asai@gmail.com
At-Large Representative Beth Bagley (Deschutes Co. District Attorney’s Office) beth_bagley@co.deschutes.or.us
At-Large Representative Connie Kong (Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt) ckong@schwabe.com
At-Large Representative & Communications Committee Chair Angela Sagalewicz (Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt) asagalewicz@schwabe.com
Advocacy Committee Chair Chin See Ming (Smith Freed & Eberhard) cming@smithfreed.com
Events Committee Chair Joelle Tavan (Miller Nash) joelle.tavan@millernash.com

* Please note that there were no candidates for Region 1. As such, Region 1 became an at-large position.

Regions by County:

Region 1: Clatsop, Columbia, Lincoln, Tillamook, Polk, Yamhill

Region 2: Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine

Region 3: Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Wheeler

Region 4: Benton, Lane, Linn, Marion

Region 5: Clackamas, Multnomah, Washington

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

NAPABA Western Regional Conference – Jun. 3-5, 2011

APA attorneys from all over the West Coast descended on Portland for the NAPABA Western Regional Conference. A good time was had by all. Thanks to our sponsors, CLE presenters, volunteers, and keynote speakers (Peggy Nagae, California State Controller John Chiang, and Deputy General Counsel at Qualcomm Carol Lam).

Please click here for more pictures

Posted in Events | Leave a comment