Monthly Archives: April 2017

Justice Lynn R. Nakamoto is the recipient of the ABA’s Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award

On August 13th, 2017, Justice Nakamoto will be honored at the American Bar Association’s Annual Meeting luncheon as an award recipient for the Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award, established by the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession in 1991, recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of women lawyers who have excelled in their field and have paved the way to success for other women lawyers.  Congratulations, Justice Nakamoto, on your well-deserved recognition.

The luncheon will be held at the New York Hilton Midtown in New York, New York. Several OAPABA members intend to attend. Hope to see you there!

OJDC Meeting

The Oregon Judicial Diversity Coalition (OJDC), comprised of the Oregon Chapter of the National Bar Association (OC-NBA), Oregon Asian Pacific American Bar Association (OAPABA), OGALLA: the LGBT Bar Association of Oregon, and the Oregon Hispanic Bar Association (OHBA), is accepting applications for the endorsement of judicial candidates applying for the vacancies on the Clackamas County Circuit Court and Jefferson/Crook County Circuit Court.
Judicial candidates seeking endorsement by any or all of the aforementioned groups are instructed to send the following information to Sherisa Davis-Larry at by Friday, April 7th at 5 pm, to be considered for an interview:
1) A fully-filled copy of the questionnaire available through OAPABA’s website ( 
2) A copy of the application materials he or she is submitting to the Governor, including the judicial interest form, resume, and letters of recommendation.
3) OJDC application materials MUST be submitted together in one single PDF document.
After receiving a completed application, the OJDC will contact applicants to schedule an interview.  In-person or telephone interviews will take place at a law firm in downtown Portland and will be scheduled sometime the week of April 17th depending upon the availability of the candidates.
 Please direct all questions to Sherisa Davis-Larry at