Author Archives: Tucker Kraght

OAPABA President-Elect Derily Bechthold Receives 2016 Oregon State Bar President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award

Congratulations to OAPABA President-Elect Derily Bechthold, who will receive the 2016 Oregon State Bar President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award. The award recognizes OSB members who have made significant contributions to the goal of increasing minority representation in the legal profession through creative employment efforts, innovative recruitment and retention programs, advocacy, or other significant efforts.

OAPABA member, Judge Valeri Love, will also be receiving the OSB Membership Services Award.

The Oregon legal community will acknowledge and celebrate Ms. Bechthold’s award and Judge Love’s award at a special event on Thursday, December 8th at 11:30 AM at the Sentinel Hotel, 614 SW 11th Ave, Portland.

OAPABA congratulates our President-Elect Derily Bechthold and member Judge Love on these well-deserved awards.

Celebrating Judicial Diversity Reception September 23, 2016 in Portland

Join OAPABA, the Federal Bar Association (FBA) and OWLS on Friday, September 23 at 5:00 p.m. to celebrate judicial diversity in Oregon. Leaders in the legal community have worked diligently to identify and support judicial candidates who are both exemplary and reflect the diversity of our community. Please join us in celebrating their hard work and our diverse bench.

No cost to attend. RSVP here.

No-host bar and refreshments provided. No cost. All are welcome. District Court of Oregon’s Chief Judge Michael W. Mosman will welcome guests around 5:30, with an introduction by Judge Youlee You. All are welcome.

Courtyard Marriott, 550 SW Oak Street, Portland (across from Big Pink)
5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

2016 OAPABA Foundation Presidential Scholarship Application now available

The OAPABA Foundation is pleased to announce the creation of the OAPABA Foundation Presidential Scholarship which expects to award one $1500 scholarship on a statewide basis to a law student who demonstrates: (1) an outstanding commitment to serve or contribute to the Asian Pacific American community as future leaders, (2) academic excellence and (3) stellar dedication to diversity and inclusion. This scholarship are made possible by donations from numerous corporations, law firms, bar associations, and individuals.

Scholarship deadline: 9/19/2016